CPU Overheating?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DarkMasterBosel

Beta member
My desktop is a HP a1230n, and I just got the nVidia GEforce 9800 GT, as well as a BFG Tech 550W power supply. With just those two components replaced, after my PC had been running for a few minutes I noticed the all too familiar smell of overheated, bordering on burning electronics (I am an electronics/EMC technician). Last night I ultimately ran it for a few hours and today installed Vista, and the problem remains there. The processor is a AMD Athlon 64 x2, 2.2-ish GHz. As of right now I have 1 GB of RAM...I did notice after I put Vista on that I had virtually no free memory......I am not sure if that problem was there when I still had XP, but after installing the hardware. Upon closer inspection, I definitely noticed the heat sink of the CPU getting very warm as well as the cables around it.

Does anybody have any suggestions as to how to deal with this issue, or a better idea as to what exactly is causing it?

My desktop is a HP a1230n, and I just got the nVidia GEforce 9800 GT, as well as a BFG Tech 550W power supply. With just those two components replaced, after my PC had been running for a few minutes I noticed the all too familiar smell of overheated, bordering on burning electronics (I am an electronics/EMC technician). Last night I ultimately ran it for a few hours and today installed Vista, and the problem remains there. The processor is a AMD Athlon 64 x2, 2.2-ish GHz. As of right now I have 1 GB of RAM...I did notice after I put Vista on that I had virtually no free memory......I am not sure if that problem was there when I still had XP, but after installing the hardware. Upon closer inspection, I definitely noticed the heat sink of the CPU getting very warm as well as the cables around it.

Does anybody have any suggestions as to how to deal with this issue, or a better idea as to what exactly is causing it?

look for a prog that will tell you your system temps