Graphics card question

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamie8dc

Solid State Member
This is my first build and I've been doing a lot of research and think I've got it pretty much finalized. I'd like to place my order in the next few days.

COOLER MASTER RC-690 Mid Tower Computer Case
Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Corsair 650W PS
Corsair 4GB DDR2-800
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775
Asus Radeon HD 4870 1GB
Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Samsung Burner with Lightscribe
Acer X243Wbd Black 24" 5ms Widescreen 400cd/m2 3000:1

Does the mobo seem like a good choice for this setup? Also, I was really torn between the 4870 1GB and the GTX 260 (maybe 55nm, but those aren't in stock at newegg). Opinions? I'll be using this system for gaming primarily, I do not want to SLI/crossfire now or in the future, so that doesn't matter.

This is my first build and I'm a little nervous, though I've read a few guides and I have changed out individual parts in past PCs so I'm familiar with the inside of a computer. Should I buy extra thermal paste, or is the thermal pad that comes with my CPU sufficient? Putting the CPU in seems like the most nerve-racking part of the whole process (besides pressing that power button for the first time) so I want to go in there prepared.

Thanks for your help and please be honest if something looks bad or sub-par, I can take it! Right now with shipping I'm at around $1520, including the monitor, and I've got $90 in mail-in rebates so it'll be a little under $1430. Seem like a good price for this system?

Out of the 3, I'd choose the ASUS. The ASUS has GDDR5 memory, which will give 2x the bandwidth of the GDDR3 of the eVGA. The Gigabyte also has GDDR5, but the ASUS has a high clock. The 4870 is about 6% faster than a 260 (According to Tom's Hardware).