To build or not to build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wall7486

In Runtime
Well, for all these years I have just been an average joe, where I buy my computer from a vendor. For once i want to build my own computer. I have a lot of desire to build one. But I don't know if i should spend a lot of money, because it is my first time. I also don't know if i want to spend too little money, because why would i want to waste money on a low-end system.
My intention was to build around the AMD 939 socket system. I wanted to buy:

1) At least an AMD64 3500+ 939pin
2)MSI "K8N Neo2 Platinum" NVIDIA nForce3 motherboard
3)Mushikin 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
4) Atleast an eVGA 6800 GT 256MB
5) Dual Western Digital Raptor Hard Drive 74GB

I have done some major reading on how to build computers and actually opened my computer to check out how each part is suppose to go where. But i'm just worry that such an expensive investment, will go wrong, because it is my first time. So can anyone suggest something?

The only way to learn is by experience and trial and error my friend. I hate going into the innards of my computer because I fear everytime it just won't POST like it should and this is for changing out things like fans! BUT I'm paranoid like that.

First off, that particular motherboard and chip you're planning on getting IS expensive..thats high end stuff right there. Might as well go for it because building a PC isn't hard especially if you read like you said you've done.

I would suggest getting this board instead:
http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p_spec.asp?model=K8T_Neo2-FIR&class=mb