I have succumbed to water cooling

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltynay

Patron
After tallying up the air build I was thinking of, I was looking at the £270ish price range so have decided to go with water. Although I understand it in theory I have no true knowledge of good parts or brands.

The plan is to internally mount the radiator by modding my current top panel and copying this;
Image001.jpg

That will then be cooled by my original aluminium fan plan for the top panel setup like this;
fanmockup.jpg

Instead of the filter the radiator will be along the length under the meshx. There will be no fan guards so fingers beware! I may add grills at a later date when I order my planned Q9450 and 55nm gtx260. I have 2 fans spare after I do this so may put them onto the rad underneath but not close enough to block the other 5.25" bays
Parts
Pump:WaterCooling UK: 12V Laing D5 Vario Pump (MCP655)
cpu block: WaterCooling UK: Swiftech Apogeeâ„¢ GTZ CPU Block
Radiator: WaterCooling UK: Black Ice GT Xtreme 360 <-- I need it to fit within the top 2 5.25 bays including space for the 25m thickness fans so limitted to 90mm
Reservoir:WaterCooling UK: XSPC Bay Reservoir - Silver
Tubing??
coolant: Distilled water with some biocide
Fan controller: Scythe Kaze Master Ace 5.25inch Fan Controller - Silver Mainly for other case fans not the watercooling loop
Meshx: A.C.RYAN Meshx

Works out to approx £300

Re: I have succumb to water cooling

Looks nice. I like it. No plans for gpu cooling? With that radiator you should be able to do it all.

Yeah plans to go gpu cooling once I get a 260 little point buying a couple of £60 blocks for sli 8800gts the blocks are worth more then the cards lol. I plan to also carry on using it if In the future If find I need sli 260s so I want it to cool a sli loop and cpu aswell as getting high overclocks. Thunking about it may get one 8800gts block as I plan to use one of them as a dedicated physx card and they are quite noisy buggers.