Need some Advice and Feedback from a New Builder

Status
Not open for further replies.

thechemist

Beta member
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this world of building my own desktop PC, and I have been doing a lot of research, yet there are some aspects I am still unsure of. The ultimate purpose of the computer will be do do some moderate gaming (I would like to play Prince of Persia, Mirrors Edge, and in the future, Diablo 3), with Itunes, Office Suite (Word, Excel), watching movies as normal uses. I am on a budget in Canadian dollars (**** the exchange rates!), around 850.00.

I've read enough to know that I would probably like to get an CPU that I can do a small to modest overclock, and either a ATI 4850 (if budget permits).

CPU - E7300
Motherboard - ASUS P5Q-Pro
DVD-Rom - LG GH22NS30 Black DVD+RW 22X8X16 DVD-RW 22X6X16 DL 16X/12X 2MB SATA OEM
Hard Drive - Seagate 500Gb
Video Card - HIS4850
Powersupply - Corsair TX650W
Ram - ?? (Mushkin, G-Skill, Corsair?)
CPU Cooler (????)
I have a CM690 case already from a friend.

My questions are what is a good set of ram that is fool-proof in setting up (or does not need to be setup), and what is a good inexpensive CPU cooler which would allow me to overclock the E7300, or do I even need a CPU Cooler to overclock it, as is the stock CPU cooler is good enough to do some overclock?

My second need for advice is not about putting together the computer as I am not intimidated by that, but the overclocking the BIOS and anything that is related to the software setup.

1) Once the computer is all put together, do I have to touch the BIOS initially, or do I just load the Operating system and then barring any obvious hardware faults, then I go into the BIOS to start tweaking the settings?
2) If i only want to overclock the CPU, do I have to touch the RAM timings or is the RAM simple enough that once I put them into the slots, I can just leave them?