Will this work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jojojamo

Solid State Member
Hey guys, I'm a first time PC builder here and I'm trying to put together a high-performance gaming rig. I followed an online guide to get a general feel for what's compatible with what, but before I make any purchases, I'd really like someone more experienced to check my work and offer any input. Here's the stuff I plan on ordering from newegg:

1. CASING: RAIDMAX SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEBP 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case With 500W Power

2. VIDEO: BFG Tech BFGE98512GTXOCE GeForce 9800 GTX 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

3. PCU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

4. MOBO: ASUS Maximus II Formula LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard

5. RAM (x2): Crucial Ballistix 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory

So ... would this be a good setup? And, more importantly, will it all work?
One of my main concerns is the wattage - the tower comes with several built in fans and a 500W power source. Will this support the hardware?

Anyway, any help anyone could give me would be really, really great. Thanks.

Everything looks okay, but you may want to invest in a better case (better airflow) and you will probably need a higher wattage power supply.

Good call... forgot to add the HDD and dvdrw drive:

- Seagate SV35.3 ST3500320SV 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

-LG Black 22X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD+R DL 22X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache IDE 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - OEM

As far as budget goes, I think that what I had originally picked out was going to run at around $617. I'd like to keep it under $700 if possible (though this is entirely dependent on whether or not I get the listed open box MOBO, which is 1/2 off ).