I'm back and need your help on a new rig.

Status
Not open for further replies.

BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL

Vinsanity
I used to use this forum a while ago and I learned everything I know about computers from this lol. But anyways I've been out of computers and gaming for a while, but now I want to make a new rig since I'm studying Computer programming in college right now and I want to get back to my gaming. My brother sold my old rig for drug money behind my back a while ago and that was the last of computers for me. I've been using my new hp laptop since then, but I want to build a desktop just in case. I'm uniformed of the new stuff on the market. My rig that my bro stole from me was what i have in my signature so that's pretty much what I left off with lol. Some one recommend me a good budget build for me. With a $500 budget maybe. I can use my old centurion5 case and i have a monitor and keyboard etc. I just need opinions on:
-mobo
-cpu
-ram
-vga card
-hdd
-psu

btw, I don't mind building a microATX system if possible. I kind of want to get something in a small portable case, but i know that the mobo selection is hindered in microATX so I'll stick with ATX if it's worth it.
All opinions are appreciated and thanks for the help.

So this is where I'm at so far, critique and let me know what you think.

CPU: AMD x2 6000 3.0ghz 2x1mb L2 Cahce
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Mobo: Foxconn A7GM-S AM2+
Newegg.com - Foxconn A7GM-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

RAM: G. Skill 2x1gb ddr2 1066
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Videocard: eVGA 9800gt (at my local computer store)
.eVGA Geforce 9800GT 512MB DDR3 600Mhz PCI-E 512-P3-N975-AR-Central Computer Systems Inc.

PSU: Antec 550W