How's this for my first build?

Status
Not open for further replies.

patau13

Solid State Member
This is my first post. I'm a noob about computer building, so I've read this forum a little and come up with my first pass at a build. I'd like opinions/suggestions on what to improve.

I'm building a gamer. I'm getting a 24" monitor later and want a graphics card that can play at 1900x1200 resolution. All my prices are from newegg.

I'm not planning on OC'ing at this point although, as I learn more about it I might do some medium OC'ing.

case - 60* Sunbeam Transformer Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - ugly, but comes with 3 fans
gpu - 200* GeForce GTX 260 - It seems like a lot of people make the same card. Does it matter which one I buy? Just get the cheapest?
psu - 100* corsair 650tx
cpu - 180* q6600
mobo - 100* gigabyte ep45 755i
ram - 50* ocz 4gb ddr2 1066 (or ddr2 800?) - will 1066 vs. 800 make a big difference?
hdd - 60* seagate 7200.11 250gb
dvd - 30* undecided
OS - 150* Vista ultimate 64bit
wifi - 30* ?

price range $1000 or less
time frame 1-2 weeks

only thing to change would be the cpu to a e8500 which when overclocked will give you the best performing cpu besides the i7's. unless that gtx 260 is a core 216 version (added stream processors) its not worth buying, a core 216 will cost u about 270 but for about 215 you can get a 4870 which is better than both. get the gskill black PI ram if its available to u aswell, ddr1066 wont make hardly any diffreence to u.

unless that gtx 260 is a core 216 version (added stream processors) its not worth buying, a core 216 will cost u about 270 but for about 215 you can get a 4870 which is better than both. get the gskill black PI ram if its available to u aswell, ddr1066 wont make hardly any diffreence to u.

+1 to what baron said.
other than this i personally think that you should get vista home premium as ultimate does not have a lot of additional features to justify its high added cost.