Looking for advice for a first time build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nastt

Beta member
My goal is basically a build capable of running the upcoming Grand Theft Auto 4 smoothly (though with my budget that may not be feasible). I'm somewhat new to this stuff so please bear with me :)

First, I was wondering if there are any good SLI motherboards on the market. I haven't researched in about half a year but when I did there were a lot of known graphical artifact/lockup issues on the nVidia 700 chipsets which ultimately scared me off from attempting a build. Have these been resolved yet? Would an SLI board even be necessary for what I need it for? If not, what motherboard would be suitable for someone with little OCing experience looking to spend around $100-125?

Next is video card(s). As mentioned earlier it's been about 6 months since I had been planning a build and at the time I was going to go with a GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB. I'm sure much has changed in 6 months so I'm essentially looking for the best bang for about $225 - I'm not too familiar with the new GeForce stuff at all.

For processor, I'd like to go with intel on a budget of about $225-$250. Beyond that /shrugs.

For RAM... um... basically anything compatible with the suggested motherboard/processor :D Same with power source and OS (not too concerned about budget for these)

I don't need a case, hard drive or anything else. Just what's mentioned above. Any advice I can receive will be very much appreciated. Thanks!

I have just recently upgraded my video card....so I will just chime in on that particular component.

Both ATI and Nvidia have great video cards at the moment....but for your budget, which if I read right is $225 dollars.....I would very strongly suggest the GTX 260....you can get one in that price range.