The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.
well for 3.8ghz i left load line calibration on, and through bios it was 1.42ish volts, and during the runs was around 1.38v

qpi i had running pretty darn high cuz i wanted to keep that out as it being a factor for not letting me boot... i had that at 1.5v

oh and hey, that clock skew was in the options and i thought of you!!!! lol... what would i wanna set that at??

back onto qpi... i'm still learning alot about it... and what its limits are, and what kind of voltages i need... i had it running low as possible (38x) in order to leave it out as a limiting factor

downloading titan quest with the expansion!!! woot for it only being 9.99!!! couldnt say no... i've always wanted that game.... looks like mad fun

but next on my list of things to do is to get windows vista x64 and start playing bioshock and crysis warhead again

rofl! clock skew ftw! seriously, if you wanna keep LLC on, clock skew could become your best friend... even if you dont, at high QPI speeds and voltages, you'll get jitter in the differential amplifier circuit (which LLC has been known to cause at load)... you can beat this jitter by adding a bit of skew to offset the clock's cycling slightly... im not 100% sure what options are in that BIOS for skew (do you have only CPU skew, or is there others? something MCH by chance?), but i believe that the skews are controlled in increments of 50ps... just try adding 50ps to the components that are running really overspec

im not really sure about QPI's limits and how to push them either... im gonna read around and try and get a feel for the actual workings of it tonight and see what i can come up with

ya i'm getting a good understanding just from real playing of qpi.. lol

and ya there was cpu and mch skew... i'm sure it shares alot of the same features as your mobo.. seeing as we're both gigabyte :p