hp pavillion hd 8000 with xp dead

Status
Not open for further replies.

FISHERPERSON

Solid State Member
i have a hp pavillion hd 8000 with win xp on it. it went dead just showing a black scree on start up. i can get into the bios setup on it i think.
could some one expalin the exact proceedure to make sure i get into the proper section in the bios settings and how to reformat it so i can reload win xp on it. thanx. im kinda new to this stuff... thanx and gods pseed to all...f.p.

Hello,

Sorry about that.

Firstly, where exactly do you encounter the black screen? Is it after the POST sequence (after the HP splash/logo screen)?

Before you re-install XP, have you tried to see if you can bring up the Safe Mode boot options, and boot into safe mode?

Failing the above, go ahead and re-install XP. The procedure for this will depend upon several things. Firstly, whether your PC has a recovery partition on the hard drive (which the majority of HP laptop have at factory configuration) and whether you have a set of system recovery discs (either manually created yourself using the HP Recovery CD Creator when your system was functional or provided by HP).

If you have a recovery partition on your hard drive which is undamaged, you should be able to power on the laptop and press the corresponding key to start the System Recovery procedure. If you have a set of recovery discs, then all you need to do is go into the BIOS and set your CD drive has the primary boot device, insert the first CD into the drive, power on the laptop, boot into the disc and follow the on screen instructions to start the system recovery. You may also intend to re-install Windows XP using a retail installation CD, in which case the steps for this are the same as the previous.