Gaming Comp. Upgrades

Status
Not open for further replies.

croSSeduP

In Runtime
I'm a computer NEWB... Big time. I bought a computer for cheap for gaming. Mainly I bought it to get started gaming, but I'm hoping it is upgradable. Here's what it is right now:

Intel Pent. 4 CPU, 3.00Ghz; 2GB RAM; Western Digital WD1600JS H.D.; Biostar P4M90-M4 M.B.; NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB V.C.

I have the complete DxDiag.txt available if that would help anyone troubleshoot the next logical step. What should be the next thing I upgrade with this Frankenstein monster? The H.D.?

Thanks!

TG

what kind of motherboard do you have? you have a pretty decent setup atm, only thing that would be necessary is that pentium 4 you got. if you upgrade that to a core 2 duo e8400 or something like that you will get a veyr nice performance boost

if your mobo doesnt support a new processor you'll have to get a new one...what kind of RAM do you have? ddr, ddr2, ddr3? if you are going to end up getting a new mobo i'd suggest upgrading to the next step of RAM if you can afford it. but, lets not get ahead of ourselves...

just leave it at "what kind of mobo do you have?" for the time being

edit: if you really really want to, you could also upgrade your graphics card to an ATI 4870, however i dont believe that would be necessary, it wouldnt be worth the money (not as giant as a step)

What about your power supply, if you intend to do many upgrades you should need upgrade power supply also.

Thanks for the quick replys.