first htpc build

Status
Not open for further replies.

RyanJohnson

Beta member
ok i have been building computers for about 4 years now and i have done everything to gaming computers to basic but one thing that i havent done is to build a htpc so i need a little help in this area below is a list of the things that i plan on using just need to know if its good or should i get better also keep in mind that i have a limit of around 600 dollars

Athenatech Black Steel A100BB.270 Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case - Retail 49.99

GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-S2H AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail 79.99

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Retail 59.00

OCZ Vista Upgrade 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail 26.99

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD5000AAKS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM 64.99

Hauppauge WINTVHVR1600 Dual Tuner White Box 1101WB PCI Interface - Retail 74.99

SAPPHIRE 100234VGAL Radeon HD 3450 512MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail 36.99

LG Black 6X Blu-ray DVD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 40X CD-ROM SATA Internal Combo LG Blu-ray/HD DVD-ROM & 16X DVD±R DVD Burner Model GGC-H20LK - OEM 139.99

all suggestions are appreciated

With a HTPC's you have to choices do you make an all in one unit or do you make 2 computers one master the other slave. All in one is self explanatory but often noisy, Master and slave means having a server styled large case hidden in the attic per example that makes all the noise and has all those loud hdd's and a sleek mini-itx case actually with the tv that just works as a remote desktop to the large server either via file storage or true windows remote desktop.

This is my planned htpc (all in one)
KustomPCs.co.uk - Silverstone LC16M Silver