Intel Core i7 hits 5ghz (56k warning)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just thinking about the price tag on the Deneb come release date makes me shiver.

If it will be $300 USD, then it will be like over $400 and even more when you add shipping and handling.

The Q9550 was $320 on newegg, while it was $414 on newegg canada..... which was BEFORE shipping and handling.

i'm now new to the egg, since i live in canada i never really looked at thier prices on the US.
however, i did notice that a lot of the AMD processor (havn't compared the Intel prices yet) were a good $40 bucks cheaper than Tiger, NCIX and Anitec. the 9950 on egg is sub $200cnd where both Tiger and NCIX list it at $240+.

if newegg can do something like this with the newly released processors, it would result in competetors having to come down in price creating some good competition - especially with how the market is going, compaines WANT business anyway they can get it.

other places like NCIX and Tiger can have excellent excellent deals with shipping. just need to keep your eyes open. My Cosmos case was ground shipped from NCIX in Vancouver to Ontario...5.99 for shipping. *shrugs*

Intel considers it a new Generation. Penryn addressed several shortcomings to Conroe and improved on it a fair bit.
I suppose it depends what you consider a 'generation' in CPU terms. Broadly, most people would say it's when a new architecture comes out, with a new name.
If Penryn is a new generation, Deneb definitely is too.

Actually it was in several games. You are referencing the old benchmarks. The newer ones paint a much different story. I think I showed you this link earlier.

Intel Core i7 "Nehalem" CPU Review - hardCOREware.net
I'm pretty sure most of those are well threaded games. COD4 I think might not be, and probably most of the games I play aren't.

i'm now new to the egg, since i live in canada i never really looked at thier prices on the US.