May have to format the hdd

Status
Not open for further replies.

Druid

Fully Optimized
My computer is getting really horrible. Whenever I try to play games, such as call of duty, things crash periodically, and it takes sooooo long to boot itself up and start my games. It's a real pain. If I format, is there anything that must be reinstalled besides the OS? I know I'm going to have to update my video card drivers and direct x, but I can't think of what else. Also, how long will this whole process take? One last thing, when doing this, is there any risk of the computer not working again. I've never done it before. Is it complicated?

Drivers are first and formost. I would also get DX Runtimes Nov 08. I would get Silverlight, Browser of choice and thigns like that.

There is always a risk when formatting. The hard drive could be dying and cause a installation error, bad parts. But for the most part they go flawlessly. I have formatted and reinstalled OS's so much on my PC it isnt even funny anymore.

It isnt complicated at all. There are a couple fo guides i know of for each XP and VIsta.

Installing Windows Vista - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki
Installing Windows XP - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki

What does partiting mean, and how long does this take approximately? How long does the initial wipe take?

Partitioning means taking one single hard drive and 'partitioning' (or separating) it into different segments. This way you can have one partition with Vista and the other with XP. Or one partition with your OS and the other with your files. While this won't save you if your hard drive fails (as all those partitions are on the same drive) it will save you the hassle if you have to reinstall the OS, as all your files can be put on the other partition.

Formatting a hard drive can take 30 minutes to a few hours depending on the size of the drive. Partioning a drive again depends on the size and how many partitions.