Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thanks Matt I found it.

Looks like I am not going to get any more out of this setup then 2.62 GHz. Unless of course I just do not know what I am doing. If I try to bump up any more then where I am the OS will not boot.

When I ran the Burn Test it failed and said my cpu or ram is unstable....I'm only at 2.62.

Why is everyone feeling that I should be able to get to 3.0 with no issues? I am new to this, today is my first day trying it out but it seems I am not getting any further now.

If I want to try and get more then 2.62GHz then what steps are next? Or do you think I am pushing my luck?

cpuz_1.jpg

It only goes to 2500 when you need it, otherwise it stays at 1.7 to save power. Do something demanding, it will go back to 2.5

your keyboard is USB, and some of them don't work at the post screen.

Bump voltage to 1.35, Loosen ur ram timings, set FSB to 400 and hope for the best. :)

I already bumped voltage on cpu...at least I think I did. I saw a CPU voltage that said something like 1.288 and I went in and add 0.050.

Set FSB to 400? Don't I want FSB to be higher? It was at 1066 and I can go up to 1333.

What do you mean by loosen ram settings?

I suggest you read some overclocking guides so then you can have most your answers answered by looking at a guide.

Just check the guide's that are stickied at the top.

I did read them. It gives you the general starting grounds on what to do. I just thought I could get OC'ed to 3.0 GHz with no problems but I can't even get close. I can't get past 2.62 GHz.

I'm sure some of it is my learning curve but I get the feeling my hardware isn't up to snuff some where, either my psu or my memory maybe, idk. I know the new memory I got Corsair is suppose to be good. Not sure about the other two memory sticks.

You fsb gets multiplied to 9, so you have 9 x 290.6

So 9 x 400 is like 3.6Ghz