New to overclocking...

Status
Not open for further replies.

95BlackGA

Fully Optimized
I'm new to overclocking. Decided I would give it a try. I decided to give it a go with an old computer.

Old computer :

Soyo Dragon Ultra Platinum KT400
AMD Athlon XP 2400+
Mushkin PC2700 512MB
3dConnect ATI 9200SE 128MB AGP

So far, I have been able to clock the CPU up to 2.26Ghz, and I got the video card up to 266Mhz (GPU Clock), and 218Mhz (Memory Clock). The stocks were 2.0Ghz for the Athlon XP, 200Mhz for the GPU clock, and 166Mhz for the memory clock. These numbers seem pretty good, but I'm not sure as I have no overclocking skills. I'm wanting to get into the memory overclocking, but I do not understand timings and all that. Where's the best sites to get the understanding of memory timings?

keep these items in mind

FSB,
Memory speeds
CPU multiplier

your goal is to get each as high as it will go

your muskin pc2700 is rated at 166mhz, so your not going to get it very much above 175mhz

first start by increasing your FSB as high as it will go (5mhz at a time) untill you start to get errors, then back it down 5mhz

once you reach your max memory, do the same thing with the processor core (only this time, lower the memory to 133, so you dont go past your max memory on accident)

once you have both numbers, do the math=P try to find a happy average between the two

also, use a blank hard drive....

i just ruined 170 gigs of priceless files overclocking...

overclocking lowers the lifespan of everything thats involved, (cpu, memory, any voltages that are altered, somtimes the chipset)

any time your messing with those things, you can get issues

it doesnt DIRECTLY affect hard drives and other components, but if your CPU isnt stable, it will get calculation errors (same thing with ram, if its not stable, the memory wont store correctly), and that can translate into corrupted files

happened to me 6 times over the last 2 days, and i lost 180gigs of stuff because of it..