Is 43* hot for a slight OC'd Quad?? (kind of long)

Status
Not open for further replies.
^ Hmm.. I'm still new to this OC thing, so I use the basic version of AMD Overdrive that came w/ my MoBo.. I can set up an OC Profile in my BIOS, but I really don't know what I'm doing with it, so I just use the software to learn me a little more about it.. I just don't want to eff anything up..

THis things seems REALLLLLLY stable so far.. It doesn't budge over 43*.. I think it held that even BEFORE I OC'd it..

Other than the very minuscule problems, this rig is 110% AWESOME for me!!! :D !!!! I LOVE IT!!!! It's EXACTLY what I was looking for!! :D :D

if its the Phenom 9950 BE you can get it up to 4.5GHz without too much of a problem on a modest air cooler... if not, with a decent air cooler, you should get the normal 9950 to about 3.5GHz (BIOS OCed)... but in short, 43C is an excellent temp for a Phenom at load... if you really want to lower the temp, lap your heatsink and the CPU itself and your temps should drop by around 4-8C

if you wanna setup CF with 4870s, liquid cooling would be a good idea... but because they've got dual slot coolers, if you mod the fan controller through either software (i believe Catalyst 8.9 has CCC fan control... maybe 8.10... read the release notes) or BIOS, you should be able to get a decent OC on them as they'll dump the heat out the back of the case (at 50% fan they're not too loud and the cards will idle at about 40-45, load at around 55-60C)... but, as always, liquid cooling, will allow you bigger OCs, and lower temps... but its really not necessary

^ I've got the BE 9950.. I should try to juice it to 3.2 once I get a little more familiar with this.. :D (maybe 4.5g was what I read earlier......)

What do you mean by 'lap the heat sink' ?? My exhaust is pointed straight up at the top 120mm (? size) exh fan on the case.. pretty close to it.. Antec cases =FTMFW!! :D

Cool! thanx for the info! :cool: