rebuilt socket 487 comp need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blizz419

Solid State Member
hopefully someone here can help me out i had a crappy emachines pentium 4 2.53Ghz comp that died on me think mobo died i cant live without a comp so cheapest fix for me was to rebuild, this is my first time doing so but i am pretty good with computers.

so i picked up a MSI 945GCM478-L 478 Intel 945GC Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

and a APEVIA X-SNIPER G-Type mid size tower (yes i know too nice of a tower for a socket 478 comp but i plan on using this tower when i build a more upto date comp)

a chip of pqi 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5400)

a FSP Group FSP400-60THN-R 400W ATX 2.0 Power Supply

now i have 4 IDE drives 2 optical and 2 HDD

so i grabbed 2 SATA/IDE converters made by SYBA those are attatched to my HDD's and IDE cable to my optical drives

now my problem is i cant get the BIOS to recognize both HDD's or Both optical drives, and with the optical it only recognizes the slave when both are connected even when set properly to master and slave only thing i havent tried is setting every drive to cable select

You can only have ONE drive on a SATA to IDE convertor.. If you are using both the MASTER and SLAVE connections of the IDE cable, that won't work.. :/

so your saying that if i'm trying to use both my HDD's through the SATA/IDE converter, both my master and slave Optical drives which are using IDE cable wont work? and i've also tried removing one hard drive all together so only one converter is in use and i still couldnt get both optical drives to be recognized which are actually on IDE with no converter only the HDD's were using the converter since the mobo only has 1 IDE controller, though i have 4 SATA i just currently do not have any SATA drives hence why i tried using 2 converters for my HDD's