need help (upgrades!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

newtek

Solid State Member
well i have an old computer its windows 98 256mb ram i dont know the hdd size but anyways i want to upgrade it to make it a little more modern and reliable i was thinking hard drive around 120gb and ram at least 1gb and a better operating system, also a new disk drive dvd/cd burner, usb 2.0, possibly graphics card and i want to spend 300 bucks more or less can anyone help me find these things or other things to upgrade these are just things i think need an upgrade but im no expert post links if you can

well i guess no one here cares well i guess im moving on to a new forum where people actually reply to threads

u waited 6 hours for a reply, things take time and ppl arnt payed to reply to ur thread, also if ur computer is running 98 chances are that any upgrade u buy wont work on ur computer, i would recommend just building or buying a new one, maybe saving up some more cash to get something better..

alright i dont know why i posted that :rolleyes: well i was going to put a new os on it like vista but i need at least 512 mb of ram and at least 14 gb free space on hard drive ,and i need at least a 800 mhz processor i dont know what it has now but its most likely not good enough and i probably would get a better graphics card if i upgrade those i should be able to install it right if i could which ones should i get

Well, in order to use all of the items you listed, you'll need to buy a new motherboard and most likely a new power supply.. If your computer currently runs Windows 98, I seriously doubt it will handle an AM2 CPU, nor will it handle DDR2 memory, PCI-Express, etc..

Computer components need to be "matched".. Since you seem to be taking the AMD route with the CPU (Good on ya, mate!), I'll try to explain..

Socket A CPU (XP series)
DDR (DDR1) RAM (PC3200 DDR400 Maximum Stock Speed)
AGP8x or PCI Graphics

Socket 939 CPU (Athlon 64, Athlon FX series)