Baseband Member
i was hoping to build a rig with something at least similar to these specs:

NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700
Sound Blaster X-Fi Extreme Gamer
killer k1
4Gigs ddr2
Windows xp

I am not an extreme gamer so i thought i could rest easy with this type of rig, however, for
(1*)i want to know what your thoughts on it are.

and secondly

(2*) what Motherboard, power source, cooling system, and tower would run best with this???
any ideas? i could just find all of it on price watch and so other than those questions, i'm good to go.

Thanks for your support!!!

Kurai

- Q6700 is old and power hungry but still quite expensive so forget it, get a Q6600 or e8400, maybe a Q9550 if you feel like spending a little more cash.
- 8800GTS is old news, get a HD4850, blows the 8800GTS anway (Unfortunatly for me :( )
- What type of DDR2, it varies hugely as you should know.
- I haven't ever used a decent soundcard so I've no experience with them. Rather I find the inbuilt codecs on the motherboards fine for me most of the time. - As for the motherboard, same old GA-EP45-DS3R for me
- Corsair 500VX power supply
- Xigmatek S1283 Cooler or OCZ Vendetta II
- Case is your preferance, big cases like the Antec tweleve hundred are easiest to work with but are..well...bigger
- Vista is perhaps worth the upgrade to at this stage but again thats your choice
Zune Guy

How deadset are you on that Killer K1? I've read some horrible reviews. Way to expensive for the performance gain. PC Gamer did a review on it not too long ago and it gave MINIMAL FPS increase while not really helping latency at all.

If your not looking for SLI, or Crossfire, then i would reccommed the Gigabyte EP45-UD3R. Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Corsair, PPC, or equivalent 500-600w PSU for future proofing.

If your OC'ing i'd recommend the Xigmatek Rifle or Arctic Freezer 7.

If your not OC'ing then you can run stock cooling.