First build, lots of questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

SMDC_

Solid State Member
Hi everyone, I'm looking at putting together my first PC and I have a fair few questions.
Here is the tentative parts list I've put together (sorry for no links):

CPU: e8400
GPU: HD4850 (quite possibly the ICEQ4 turbo one, I like it)
Motherboard: ASUS P5QL-Pro
Hard drive: Western Digital 640GB 16MB cache
RAM: No clue, looking at 2GB as 4GB is a little expensive for me
Case: Coolermaster 690
Power Supply: Corsair 450VX

I live in New Zealand, so all of this is a bit more expensive than you might expect. Currently looking to be about $1250 NZ shipped, which is a little over budget (was looking at $1000) but I can deal with it. I have all the peripherals I need already.

Can anyone suggest a decent NZ site to source these parts from? I'd prefer to get them all from one site.

As I'm new to this, I have a lot of questions about my parts too. Will this power supply be sufficient for this rig? I think 450W is a bit on the low side but it does have a single 12V rail at 33A, and even the 550W in the same series is significantly more expensive.

As for the motherboard I have picked, does anyone have any experience with it? I hear it's not terrific for overclocking, but I wouldn't really want to push the CPU above 3.6GHz for quite a while I think. Can anyone suggest a better board in the same price range with similar features? My budget is really pushed to the limit currently, and it seems that you can't get biostar boards here in NZ.
Also, when you buy a motherboard, do they generally come with all the cables you'll need? SATA, PCI-E connectors etc?