Best Laptops for £500(ish) and under?HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liamando

Solid State Member
Hi, I'm a student and I need a new laptop.

This is my understanding of laptops at the moment:

Core 2 Duo Processors = better.
2ghz and above pocessors = fast.
2gb minimum RAM for Vista.
3gb RAM- is this good?
4gb RAM-is this excellent?

250gb Hard-Drive= good.

I basically want a laptop that runs extremely quickly, good hard-drive space, can multitask at high speeds, and can cope with lots of music. (Although I'm looking for good speakers), and a good screen for DVD watching.

Just as an example of a laptop I was interested in, could someone tell me if this is good or not: Please help and reccomment other laptops with good specs!

HP 6720s Business Laptop Intel Centrino Core 2 Duo T5870 4GB 250GB 15.4" WXGA Brightview Vista Home Premium Office 07 60 Day Trial 1 year warranty ........... £479. Here's the spec:

Drives
Hard disk drive Serial ATA hard drive 250GB (5400 rpm)
Optical DVD rewriter with LightScribe
Memory
DDR II, 667 MHz 4GB
Memory slots 2 x 2 GB SODIMM slot supporting dual channel memory
Portability
Display features 15.4" WXGA BrightView (1280 x 800 resolution)
Connectivity
Wireless technologies Wireless 802.11a/b/g/
Fax/modem 56K modem
Network interface Intel Fast Ethernet Integrated Controller (10/100 NIC)
Expandability
Expansion slot Slots available for additional devices: 1 ExpressCard/54 slot, Media Card reader slot (Secure Digital (SD)/MMC support)
I/O port 3 USB 2.0 ports, VGA, stereo microphone in, stereo headphone/line out, power connector, RJ-11, RJ-45
Software Operating System
Operating system installed Genuine Windows Vista Premium
Compatible operating systems Genuine Windows XP Professional Edition
Pre-installed software
HP Backup and Recovery Manager
Roxio Creator 9
Microsoft Office 2007 Ready (60 day free trial) Basic, Small Business or Professional edition

Software included
HP Backup and Recovery Manager,