Rebooting system

Status
Not open for further replies.

toffeetop

Baseband Member
Hi guys

i am not very good with computers so i am sorry if anything i say seems stupid. my laptop has now reached maximum memory capacity and my computer is beginning to slow up. i was thinking of rebooting the system.

i have a Dell inspiron 6400 with a windows vista OS

>Would this free up some memory?
>Does this wipe the hard drive?
>i can get an external hard rive to save important doc.s but i am worried about certain programmes that i no longer have a start-up disc for, particularly for my PDA software can i save from lap top to external hardrive?

Can anyone help with some advice (dummy format if possible)?

Your laptop is filled up with what's known as bloatware. All big companies put a lot of it on their computers. It's usually many applications running in the background that a company's sponsors have made.

There are a few of choices you can make. These two are usually the easiest.

1. You can reformat your computer. To do this we'll help you out but you need to make sure you have all the needed drivers.

2. You can download Autoruns and post a screenshot here so we can tell you what applications you can close to save memory.

Your laptop is filled up with what's known as bloatware. All big companies put a lot of it on their computers. It's usually many applications running in the background that a company's sponsors have made.

There are a few of choices you can make. These two are usually the easiest.

1. You can reformat your computer. To do this we'll help you out but you need to make sure you have all the needed drivers.

2. You can download Autoruns and post a screenshot here so we can tell you what applications you can close to save memory.

thanks for the help - cvb 724