Windows Laptop under $1900 budget

Status
Not open for further replies.

akasixcon

This is sparta!
I decided to put in $1900 for my college laptop. What are some good websites / vendors to buy a very good laptop of this price? Is putting in 1900 a high-end or a mid laptop?

Laptop will be used for multimedia and gaming and of course school work.

It will be higher end. I would say budget would be 600-1000, mid range would be 1000-1600 and anything above that will be top of line.

I have always loved HP laptops, still have mine from 4 years ago - and as my time as a computer tech i've had far fewer service calls on HP compared to Sony and Dell (the most).

I've also read (not experienced) that Acer has some really nice laptops.

Keep in mind 9 pounds is very heavy for a desktop... i mean laptop. Mine is the 17'' monitor too, it is a beast. So just remember you won't have much battery life and it will be relatively heavy. If it is staying in the dorm room then this is a good buy, if you want to carry this everywhere with you i think you should rethink your purchase.

Just throwing my $.02 in here... I would pick up a $600-$700 laptop mainly for school work and some mild gaming/multimedia and then put the other $1200 towards a desktop. You can build a beastly rig for that much that would be able to run anything on the market and probably most games for the next few years.

Plus, gaming on a laptop sucks... Horrible battery life and you better be wearing some thick jeans if you ever actually set it on your lap as those suckers get extremely hot.

Just throwing my $.02 in here... I would pick up a $600-$700 laptop mainly for school work and some mild gaming/multimedia and then put the other $1200 towards a desktop. You can build a beastly rig for that much that would be able to run anything on the market and probably most games for the next few years.