Possible stupid Q... X4 vs X2..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Antec-User

Papa Chester
I'm an AMD guy, but I'll welcome all suggestions..

I'm building a new rig soon to appease my new found gaming side, I'd like a new AMD Phenom X4, or even an X3.. But would I REALLY benefit with a tri or quad core over lets say a 6000 X2?? MILD OC also.. I don't feel like frying anything. I read in the other thread where someone said that most dual cores will out perform a quad core. Has AMD fixed the bugs I was hearing about with the quads?? Would it be worth the money versus a NICE SLI mobo and AM2+ 6000+CPU?

I'm mainly playing Crysis right now, getting COD4 this weekend and I'll get the new Crytek games when they come out.. Or the other one that was mentioned to me in the other thread. How will the game use a quad vs a dual core? No difference? I'm still new to the EXACT operations of processors. I'm gonna be taking some computer courses at the local college sometime late this year.

I realizing that this computer hobby can make me some money!

Thanx for the advice..

if you tell us your budget we could help you alot more but people mostly recommend a build along the lines of this

e8400/e8500
Biostar I45 or 750i FTW
HD 4870/ HD 4870X2 or GTX 260 or you can wait for the new versions of the 260/280 cards
Corsair 750tx
4gb DDR2 RAM

i know you said your an AMD guy but intel are way ahead of AMD and you said you will take suggestions.

A Quad core will really help framerates in Crytek games and i think Call of Duty 4. As for a 'Tri Core' there is really no point at all. Go for a Quad.

This is what I was going to do.. Just still in the air with the processor.. Nothing EXTREME, but around $1500 for the board, CPU, new HD, possible liquid cooling and RAM. I've already got everything else, just need new stuff of what I just listed. Gonna need a new OS HD, SATA. I'll just grab another Maxtor 320G.

(This thing is running AWESOME tonight!!! :D )

Board