Video card problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

Antimullet

Baseband Member
I built my computer, and I did a lot of homework before I did, but I'm still pretty new to everything. For my video card, I preordered an ATI Radeon 9600XT. The way they were talking about/advertising the thing, I figured it was the way to go. From what I've heard, people are saying the same thing. However, mine has just quit working, it seems. I want to know if other people have had these problems, or if mine is probably damaged somehow.

Whenever I'm playing games that seem to stress the system at all, my monitor will suddenly go black, with a message that says, "no signal detected." I can hear other things working still, but then the whole thing just stops, and though my computer is still on, I'm getting nothing from it. Sometimes, before the "no signal detected" message on my monitor, I get one that says, "out of range." The "no signal detected" message is the same thing the monitor says when my computer is not on, but I turn the monitor on (which makes sense, but I thought I'd clarify.)

Counter-strike often comes up with a really not pretty screen of random colors, sometimes Ghost Recon crashes, I've had problems with Neverwinter Nights crashing, Doom 3 randomly crashes while I'm playing (despite the fact that I installed the new beta drivers that supposedly make the game run better), and the Counter-Strike: Source beta always crashes after about 2 or 3 minutes. I wouldn't think much of the beta crashing, but it does the same thing the other games do when they crash, and since it seems to me so much of a problem with the other games, I figure it can't be normal, even for that beta....