Need Advice On Upgrading

Status
Not open for further replies.

getemboi

Solid State Member
Hello, I'm new to the forum, and joined because I need advice. My parents just bought me a new computer, but I'm having problems playing games. I'm new to PC games, so forgive me if I sound stupid. I read the one guide that listed the information I should list when asking for advice, so I will provide that. The computer was on sale, thats why they bought it, but they don't want to take it back as they bought an extended warranty on it and to them they think it works fine, when I told them it won't even play game they said just play games on your Xbox. I downloaded the demo for Hitman2: Silent Assassin, it starts, but the graphics as crap, horrible quality and the game play is unplayable it lags so badly, but based on the system requirements for the game and what's in my computer I can't understand why my computer won't play it. I'd like to play games like COD4, STALKER, Crysis (if it's possible), so I'm hoping someone can give me some advice on upgrading, and maybe helping me fix the problems what I have with the current system. Is my computer capable of playing ANY games ? If so what should my system be able to handle, and what would I need to upgrade to play the games like COD4, STALKER ?

Here is the info on my computer:

CPU-Z

Processor
Name : AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ 2.6 GHz
Code Name: Brisbane
Core Speed: 999.6 MHz
FSB: unsure, can't see anything labeled FSB
Bus Speed: 199.9 MHz

Motherboard
Maunufacturer: Acer
Model: RS740DVF

Graphics Interface
Version: none listed
Transfer Rate: none listed

Memory
Type: DDR2
Size: 3072 MBytes
Frequency: none listed under NB Frquency, DRAM Frequency is 199.9MHz

DirectX Diagnostic Tool

System Tab
DirectX Version: DirectX 10

Display Tab
Device
Name: ATI Radeon 2100
Chip Type: ATI Radeon 2100 (0x796E)
Approx. Total Memory: 1407MB

You are running on onboard graphics. While the 2100 ain't crap, it can't handle games like those.