Is the time right to upgrade?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Like I said, I'm a novice when it comes to updating computers. Are you sure I will be able to handle instructions and whatnot to reach and maintain speeds that the 6400+ gets right outta the manufacture? And any advice on memory?

u can even use a 5000+ the get about 3.3ghz. but im guessing its even easier with the 5400 BE. the thermal paste will already be applied to the HSF, so dw about that. theres alot of tutorials around the place, info is easy to find.

u can even use a 5000+ the get about 3.3ghz. but im guessing its even easier with the 5400 BE. the thermal paste will already be applied to the HSF, so dw about that. theres alot of tutorials around the place, info is easy to find.

Newegg discontinued those :(

My RAM is closest to this
Newegg.com - GeIL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
but considering this is a deactivated product I won't be able to get it, from newegg at least. I have 3 more questions before I make my final choice. Considering that newegg doesn't offer the geil products I need, what would you suggest? I would need 2x1gb. Will all this work fine with my 500 watt PSU? Finally, would I have to do any physical modding to the black processor to reach 3.2ghz?

I'm currently using an amd 4200+ clocked at normal speed. I'm looking to grab a 6400+ because I think it is the best I can get with my mobo. Not sure if they are going to add any to this line, or if they will price drop soon to compete.

Why not overclock that to about 2.8ghz if you can and just leave it there? Maybe pick up a cheap heat sink in the process. Or is that not a good idea?

i would just ditch the whole setup and build a something with an E8400 or something....