RAM, OP, POS, and Cooling questions on a first build.

Status
Not open for further replies.

BossChase

Baseband Member
Hi guys

My goal is to have a top of the line gaming pc. I have a spending budget of 5000.00 USD that I can put into the box. I would like to have enough left over to get a good monitor but I can use the one I have for a while so I can go all the way up to 5k on just the pc.

As for an OP I'm up in the air I read if you have more than 3gb of ram you need Vista Ultimate 64bit but i'v had some people that i've asked disagree. What's your opinion on the best OP for a gaming system?

I'm gathering a parts list for a high end gaming system that I plan on having ready by December. This is my first build and I have gotten mixed messages when it comes to getting ram ddr2 or ddr3. What are the pro's and con's of ddr2 and ddr3?

Here's what i have so far but you can see i'm still up in the air on the RAM. I'm really trying to get the best of the best. Do you have any recommendation for better parts?

CPU: Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
Motherbord: Newegg.com - ASUS Rampage Extreme LGA 775 Intel X48 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
Graphics Card: Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100251SR Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB 512-bit (256-bit x 2) GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Ram: Newegg.com - OCZ Vista Upgrade 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
Hard Drive: Newegg.com - Western Digital VelociRaptor WD3000GLFS 300GB 10000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives
Hard Drive: Newegg.com - Western Digital VelociRaptor WD3000GLFS 300GB 10000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives