new build helppp

Status
Not open for further replies.
I appreciate all your opinions but lets try to stay on track haha... by looking at the MINIMUM requirements i want to make a bulky future proof machine that can render things REAL easily n fast. My MAX im looking to spend is 2000...im just trying to get the best stuff for my buck.

i was looking at the q6600 (any opinions? any others i should be looking at?)
as for GPU i prefer ati OR Nvidia, im just trying to find out which runs better when rendering...also do you think it would be better if i connect 2 video cards (SLI/Crossfire?)

P.S. ITS NOT FOR GAMING!!!! this is for rendering purposes!!! (i am a producer)

is the q6600 good enough for a build like this or could i get better for that price range???

also, what about the MOBO?

Well, I'm not sure whether this program is quad threaded...

Take a look at the q6600 (2.4ghz) or if you want a fast dual core look at the e8600 (3.33ghz)

Like I stated before. You MUST use an Nvidia graphics card as ATi cards are unsupported.

For this program a Quadro would be advisable.

For a motherboard it says you need a PCI-E 4x slot. Use the power search on newegg to find a couple boards with one.

yea, i just realised i needed an NVIDIA card. But now which card do i get that can work well with the Q6600 in rendering terms...

also, those are MINIMUM requirements so i would like to take a few steps above what they have listed =/

therefore, is there a specific mobo out there that gives an advantage to video editing / rendering?

Look at the Quadro line of video cards...

Anything in the $400+ range should work excellent.

As for motherboards, more expensive is better.

also, i tried searchin newegg for PCI-E 4x .... but all i see is 16x...i don't get it...where did u see that i needed a PCI-E 4x

Avid Media Composer Mojo DX

Thats where it says it. I remember you mentioned Mojo...