CMOS/ BIOS trouble shooting.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Random Seeker

Banned
I'll start off to say I'm new to the scene, and problems occured after installing a graphics card, geforce fx 5500 to be exact.

My computer model:
Datamini: Products

The following messages shows up on BIOS but not every time, leaving me uncertain of actions to take, DSKCHK doesn't find a problem, and is strangely now black on the border with green on the main area where it shows statistics.

CPUID: 0F29 Patch ID:002E

Default settings loaded.

And my system clock resets to 2004 confusing my firewall and disabling it's anti virus.

Things I've done:

Sitted the graphics card properly.
Accidently removed what seems to be the heating prosessor. Big Fan thing with silver intel sticker on it, must be.
I've not touch anything else, and from search results, can removing the battery really help?
I might have done this when I did not power off the computer power, the main plug to the wall was however pulled out.
Why is it that the | symbol pushed in results in powering on and the O symbol off?

Have a good laugh, and maybe help me.

the | and O you are referring to is the power switch of the power supply unit from the ac outlet to the power supply, or into the machine. You should not be using this to power off and on the machine. Use only the Power button located somewhere towards the front of the computer case.

if you accidently removed a heat sink fan...you must reattach it, and do so properly.

the cmos battery is easy to do IF you need to...
if not, easy
look inside case for round batter...look for the notch...use something to pop the battery off...replace with same

so no laughs....but hopefully whatever you did is only minor and that you actually did install the graphics card correctly

ALSO, in bios, disable quickboot if you can see that option. Then re-enable it after you do a few reboots.