Overclocking a video card

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cxar

Beta member
Hi, new to the forum and I had a question about overclocking my video card. As I am rather new to this type of computing I'm hoping you can bear with me. I have a 64 mb geforce 2 mx440 and I have overclocked it up 50 mhz on the core clock and 14 mhz on the memory clock speed. I'm wondering how high I could push it before worrying about the cooling aspect. I'm looking to get the most for my money out of the card and your input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Well if it's a PCI card I'd say **** it and buy a comp (or just a mobo) with an AGP slot old man...You really are screwed on that aspect lol....gl, hopefully someone here can help.

You can crank your core and memory both until artifacts appear on your screen when playing games. Just crank them up one at a time slowly (1 or 2 M at a time) then run 3dmark or play a graphic intensive game for 10 min. and check for artifacts. Do this until artifacts appear and then take your frequency down one or two steps until your artifacts appear. Proceed with the other one and do the same thing.