Status
Not open for further replies.

Blueprint

Baseband Member
my dvd rom and dvd burner is not working no more need a new one.It's ide

I want to increase my memory from current 512 to at least 2-3gb

untitled.JPG - Free Image Hosting at TurboImageHost

I'm a computer rookie not sure what all this means

and my processor is a pentium 4 2.8 is that good enough? I do multitasking ,I don't game or any thing mostly just watch a movie and have many webpages open at the same time it freezes at times

do I need a new mother board to get a better processor ?

I can't get new pc at time

Technically you can keep the same board and get a better processor (I am guessing your motherboard is socket 478) but it wouldn't be that much better, but if you really want a new good processor you will want a motherboard with socket LGA 775 (or AM2 if you are an AMD fanboy ;)) You can get a decent dual core CPU for about $70 that will be good for what you do. Look on Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more! for a DVD burner if you are in the states they are about $20-$30. As for RAM I'm not too good with it so someone else should help you with that.

The extra RAM would definitely help you out. I can't be sure if you need DDR or DDR2, as that information was not in your image. If you can post the make and model of the computer (such as Dell Dimension 3500, or whatever), we could tell you for sure.

Another thought is to invest in a graphics card. Since you don't game, it wouldn't have to be an expensive one. You mainly want something to take the stress of playing your movies off of the processor as much as possible.

The extra RAM would definitely help you out. I can't be sure if you need DDR or DDR2, as that information was not in your image. If you can post the make and model of the computer (such as Dell Dimension 3500, or whatever), we could tell you for sure.