My first gaming build-help please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Muffinking

Baseband Member
Hey guys this is my first attempt at building a gaming machine. I'm looking to spend no more than $1500 on everything and I think I've come up with a pretty good setup. However, I have a few concerns and I would greatly appreciate any and all help as I'm looking to order this thing in the next few days.
1. I am torn between 1 Radeon 4870 and 2 Radeon 4850s. Which do you think would perform better for a 22" monitor at 1680 by 1050? Which would give me better FPS?

2. I don't know a heck of alot about Mobos and I want one that supports crossfire because even if I only get the single 4870, I may buy another one a few months down the road and want to have that option.

3. Any help with monitor and case suggestions would be nice as I don't know much about these. I want a good functional case that looks nice too, but it can't cost a ton.

Anyway...here's what I've put together so far.
https://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.aspx?ID=10239328

Thanks in advance guys!

1. 2x 4850 would give better FPS in most games (some do not use CrossfireX very well), but would cost a bit more.

2. Look for a good X38/X48 or P45 motherboard. Check Asus, Gigabyte or Biostar for some good ones.

3. Monitor: 22" Asus 2ms Response Time
Case: Not sure by what you mean as "cost a ton" but for some good cases under $100 check NZXT or CoolerMaster.

Thanks for the help!

I picked a new motherboard...don't know what I was thinking with the old AMD/Intel cross haha! Any more specific mobos that could be recommended for crossfire? Also, I know you can mix AMD vid cards with intel cpus/mobos, but does this ever cause any sort of compatibility issues? Sorry if that's a noob question, but I am a noob haha.

I changed the PSU to the recommended Corsair 750TX.

I picked the ANtec 900 case, but haven't decided on a monitor yet.

Does this look any better?