What Graphics Card?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vialli25

Solid State Member
Hi, I have a relatively old omputer seeing as it's 4 years old. I want to be able to play the latest PC games on my machine but wondered if it was just a graphics card I'd need.

My PC Specs are

WinXP HE
1GHz Pentium 3
128MB RAM
40GB HDD

and I currently have a GeForce 2 MX. Now I know this is shit compared to what you guys have now, but all I wondered is, would it be ok for me just to upgrade the graphics card or would that not improve the performance of my games that much? Would I have to upgrade my RAM and processor aswell?

Cheers, James

p.s I know I'm a newbie so go easy on me...

I don't really know where to start, so here it goes. You definitely need a new gfx card, if you like nvidia, then get a 5700, or if not, then go for ATI 9800 pro. You'll need some more memory, for sure, and to play the "latest" games, you'll probably need a different processor. I might be wrong on the processer, but better safe that sorry :D But for now, get at least 512 RAM in your system, as well as a new vid card, and you should be alright.

Hope this helps

Mike

if ur on a budget, u can get a nice amd xp system for cheap, a xp 2400+ is like 60$. Then get a mobo for it, doesnt cost that much. Get 512 ram, bout 70$ for performance ram. And gfx card.. if on a budget, get a 9600 xt, or 9700 pro.
Hope this helped

Putting one of the latest graphics cards in a system that old won't do you much good. Your processor is a Pentium III at 1GHz, which is way outdated. I would suggest that you build a new system, getting an Athlon XP processor if you are on a budget or an Athlon 64 processor if you have the cash. Then I would get the GeForce 6800 GT, which will give you a magnificant gaming experience.

beedubaya, you really like the 6800GT dont u ;) had bad experiences with the X800Pro?