sata+ide=kablammo?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SeanoCastellin

Solid State Member
Ok, here's the thing. I got new internet today so I wanted a hdd to fill up. So I went to work and bought a WD 500gig sata 7200. (I work at a computer store (woot for wholesale prices! =DD))

So anyway, got home. Whacked it in. Turned on my compy 386. The BIOS and windows didn't pick it up.

So I researched a bit and found out I had to cap the sata drive to 150 mb/s with a jumper. So I did.

Now BIOS picks it up but windows still doesn't.

ARGGGG!

Can anyone help? I feel so noob, considering im a computer technician =S haha

Thanks guys.

Sean

You'll have to format it.

Start > right click 'My Computer' > go to 'Manage...' > on the right side pane go to 'Disk Management' > Find the drive listed in the bottom (will most likely have a black bar on top of it). Right click that, and pick Format (I think that's what it is anyway; if its not Format its New Partition).

You'll have to format it.

Start > right click 'My Computer' > go to 'Manage...' > on the right side pane go to 'Disk Management' > Find the drive listed in the bottom (will most likely have a black bar on top of it). Right click that, and pick Format (I think that's what it is anyway; if its not Format its New Partition).

Sorry, I should have mentioned the logical disk manager doesn't see it either. I already looked.

All of my disk utility programs (in DOS) see the drive. I've formatted it a few times using them but windows still won't see it.

Thanks

well it seems to be a windows issue, though you could try updating your BIOS. have you used a SATA drive in this computer before?

Yup, everything should be fine. This is the first time I've used a sata. Im thinking of switching it for a pata, but I was hoping that would be a last resort.

But oh well. Thanks for trying.