Bad motherboard? I have replaced everything..

Status
Not open for further replies.

DJYoshaBYD

Beta member
Ok.. I know this sounds bad, but I have been doing this for 13 years, so Im not a dummy... but I think my motherboard is broken.. haha

a month ago my pc started freezing during games and whatnot.. I chalked it up to overheating, so I added a case fan and cleaned it out very well... still locked up and would restart itself out of no where... even during movies now.. my 1st instincts were "hey, my PSU is f***ed".. so I bought a very nice 630w PSU.. still locked up and froze, but noticeable difference..

next, I bought RAM, new HDs, and DVD burner (I needed one).. still locked up and froze and restarted.. I was playing fable, and it froze, so I felt the heat sink, and it was so hot it **** near burned my finger.. so I bought a huge badass heat sink and fan.. still locked up and restarted.. replaced my graphics card.. still did it...

here is what WAS in my pc...
P4 3.2 HT with stock fan and heat sink
ECS p4m800 mobo
512mb ddr1 400
AGP geforce fx5500 gfx card
WD 80gb HD
380w PSU

NOW it has
same CPU with BIGASS heat sink and fan
same mobo
1gb ddr2 533
AGP geforce 6800 GS gfx card
WD 250gb HD
630w PSU

Sooooo.. yeah.. last night, I went to mess with the new distro of MythBuntu on another HD.. so I took all my other HDs out, and put this one in, installed the OS, and when it boots, it boots to some weird command prompt that IS NOT the regular *nix type of cmd prompt.. so I just said "hey, I will just install 8.04, and upgrade to mythbuntu.." wrong.. I used my other CD, that worked just fine on the same pc before, and it booted the same way.. tried a different HD, and it did the same thing..

so Im to the point now where Im 99.9999% positive that my motherboard is messed up physically.. but I am trying to figure out exactly WHAT is doing it.. any suggestions?

and no, its not the processor, because the PC wouldnt even function...