In need of help with an overall upgrade!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kingfrail

Baseband Member
So Im nearly a complete beginner at upgrades, knowing whats compatible with what, but I definitely know that I'm in need of a serious upgrade. The first thing I need to deal with is my Video Card. From what I can tell, its an Intel(R) 945GM Express Chipset, and I don't know what the **** it technically means, but apparently I have integrated graphics, and seeing as I'm planning on building a Gaming Laptop, Integrated graphics isn't going to cut it from what I hear.

The Video Card is really my #1 priority, as its holding me back from running a ton of games, but I'd love to upgrade my laptop as a whole to run smoother games as well.

I have a Dell Latitude D520, and here are its specs from some analyzer I found online

CPU
You Have: 2 processors running - Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2300 @ 1.66GHz

CPU Speed
You Have: 1.66 GHz Performance Rated at 2.99 GHz

System RAM
You Have: 1014 MB

Operating System
You Have: Microsoft Windows XP Professional (Build Service Pack 22600)
PASS

Video Card
You Have: Mobile Intel(R) 945GM Express Chipset Family (Intel(R) GMA 950)

Video RAM: You have - 224 MB
Video Card 3D Acceleration - You have - Yes
Video HW Transform & Lighting: - You have - No
Vertex Shader Ver.: - You have - 0.0
Pixel Shader Ver.: - You have - 2.0

Video Card Driver Version (DirectX)
Your driver version number is: 6.14.10.4814

Sound Card
Minimum: Yes
You Have: SigmaTel Audio
Your driver version number is: 5.10

Free Disk Space
You Have: 7.4 GB

DVD
You Have: PHILIPS DVD+-RW SDVD8820