circuit help

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltynay

Patron
Admins this isn't really computer related so place where you see fit I just want the attention of people that have circuit knowledge.

BACKGROUND Story:
Had a drunk night out last night and woke up with a photo sensitive traffic cone lamp in my room like this
Monolamp Torches and Lamps Directa

I was about to throw it away when I came up with a wild idea to turn it into a powerful LED lamp for parties as its photo sensitive it could be a leave outside and forget thing for a few days

just to clear up I have no real electronic knowledge just school stuff and GCSE DT

SPECIFICS:
So I am going to add a simple switch from battery to main circuitboard is there any issue with this? its a 6V battery (defiance 4R25)
I am thinking of using about 50 LEDS in a dome shape of this one battery....
I am unsure how to mount the batteries atm possibly use a plastic bowl with lots of holes in then solder the leds in a linear fashion

Any potential hazards or straight up flaws with this plan???

Sounds like a good plan to me, how many Amps is the battery though? the only flaw i can see is battery life 50 led's would draw quite a bit of current, if they are 30mA x50 =1.5Amps so depending on your battery it might only last an hour or 2 tops.

I'd like to see a pic of the actual cct board, but so far it seems to be a good idea. Mebbe you could post one on photobucket/imageshack?

If you had enough know-how, you could just build a transformer and plug it straight into the mains. I mean, it's unlikely you'll be partying too far away from a power socket anyway.

Or you could buy one of those cheap wall plug transformer things, just make sure you get the right voltage and power, you could then ditch the battery and put the switch in series with the wall adapter/transformer thingie. Completely safe.