What do you think of this coombination?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jorabisa

Beta member
Hi everyone!

I'm building a new PC, but it's the first time and I'm not an expert, so I'm really not sure about the components I've chosen. It's not really a gamer pc, but I need some power because I'll use it sometimes for editing videos and work with big images. What do you reckon?

INTEL Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.50GHz
Asus Maximus Extreme
Kingston ValueRAM 2GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Deskstar 7K1000 750Gb Sata-Ii
Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce 8500GT 512MB
Antec Sonata Plus 550
LG L227WT 22 inch TFT LCD Monitor
Samsung SH-S202 20X IDE DVDRW

Thank you!!

here is what I think,

ASUS P5K-E/WIFI-AP LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard

OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
Since you said "big" images, I figured more ram would be better than more speed. make sure you use 64bit OS with this or else get
GeIL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
2GBs if programs you use does not behave well in 64bit environment

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

LITE-ON Black 20X DVD SATA Burner
LITE-ON Black 20X DVD SATA Burner

rest either don't know or don't care :p

edit:
some will say psu that cames with cases is crap, but this is an antec neopower 550 so I think its fine

Hi everyone!

I'm building a new PC, but it's the first time and I'm not an expert, so I'm really not sure about the components I've chosen. It's not really a gamer pc, but I need some power because I'll use it sometimes for editing videos and work with big images. What do you reckon?

Asus Maximus Extreme
Antec Sonata Plus 550

Thank you!!