Just built first PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

XDRoX

In Runtime
Well I got all my stuff in the mail today, and just finished building my first PC.
Here is the stuff:

E2200
GA-P35-DS3L
EVGA 256-P2-N733-LR GeForce 8400GS
Western Digital Caviar SE WD1600AAJS 160GB
Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2GB (2 x 1GB)
Samsung 22" monitor
Zalman 9500
Antec 900

So I got everything together and was very surprised and relieved to see it turn on. I stuck in my Vista Ultimate Disk, and it loaded fine. I downloaded AVG virus scan, Ad Aware, Firefox, Core Temp, PC Wizard, Prime 95, and CPU-Z.

I then restarted and went into the bios. Pls keep in mind that I have never done this before and I don't really know what I'm doing. I bumped FSB from 200 to 250 with a multiplier of 11. I did do it in small increments, running prime95 after each bump. I then noticed that my DRAM frequency was also raising, so I think I was also overclocking my RAM???
So I went back into the bios and changed the ratio to 3:5 to keep the RAM as close to 800 as possible. At a ratio of 3:5 I'm at 833, so I figured that ain't bad.

Am I right to assume I should try to keep my RAM around 800?

So I'm stable at 250 x 11 = 2750mhz.

Should I keep pressing it or leave it be at ~2.8ghz? Also I have not messed with any of the voltages. Is that OK?

Thanks

Those Ballistix are great for overclocking. You want to keep that ratio as close to 1:1 as you can actually. Overclocking your RAM only makes your system faster and helps with overclocking your CPU. Your ballistix will run fine at 1000 mhz I'm sure.

About the voltage, there is no reason to raise it if your system is running stable. I don't know what the overclocking capabilities of an E2200 are but I think if you got it to 2.75 GHz you should be able to make it to 3GHz. Give it a small bump in voltage if it needs. Only up the the voltage by one increment at a time and test it. No point in giving it more voltage than it needs.