I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

zabak80

Baseband Member
Actually, just kidding...

I'd be happy with 2.6!

This is my first time overclocking, and I have done my research, but there is so much information out there and a lot of it is contradictory.

What I have: E2180, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, 2 gb Crucial Ballistix Ram, 8600 gt, stock cooler, Antec 450 power supply.

I'm really only looking to overclock to 2.6, MAYBE 2.8 once I get 2.6 stable.

First off, should I just use the EasyTune5 software that comes with the motherboard, or should I do it directly in bios?

Does anyone have stable, SAFE settings for my setup to get this to 2.6?

Many thanks!

No Chip is the same so you can't exactly duplicate settings, the best overclocking method is through the BIOS

first try to push the FSB to 260 from 200, then Prime95 test it (it should be stable) because 260x10 = 2600mhz

I don't recommend pushing past 2.6ghz without a better cooler (like an Arctic Freezer Pro 7)

Based on my experience with my E2180 I would expect 2.6 to be stable with stock voltage but as Vernong said every chip is different. I have had my E2180 at 2.8ghz on stock cooling for a 3dmark06 run but I wouldn't run it like that 24/7.

So put the FSB to 260 and the multilier to 10?

Keep voltage and everything else the same?

Multiplier you can't change at all... 10x (well you can drop it to a min of 6... but don't do that) is the stock one...

I run 2.9 24/7 on stock cooler. Put your fsb to 290, underclock your ram. These chips will most likely always do 2.8-2.9 stock vcore. Anything after that then consider yourself lucky. Why stop at 2.6 when you can have it at 2.8-2.9 on stock vcore.