Need help with my first build...

Status
Not open for further replies.

burkish127

Solid State Member
So I'm building my own PC, first time ever. I have some knowledge of how everything works, but I'm certainly no expert. I intend to build a pretty good gaming machine that I won't need to upgrade any time soon. Vista Ultimate 64bit. I did some research and I want to do an SLI build. I'm only buying one video card for now, though, because of the price.

I've been browsing and I think I've found a set up I like, but as I said, I'm no expert. I tried to figure it out myself, but I'm not sure if all these components are fully compatible with each other.

So I was wondering if these things will all work together and if they're good choices. If anyone has any suggestions for alternative choices, I'm all ears.

I've noticed everybody on here seems to use newegg.com. I found all my stuff on TigerDirect.com because that was the first site someone referred me to. If newegg is better, I'll try and find all this stuff there once I know it'll all work together.

Here's what I got so far...

1. Case
Thermaltake Black Kandalf Full-Tower ATX Case with 11 External Drive Bays, Clear Side, Front USB, Firewire and Audio Ports
I've heard complaints from people that motherboards and PSU's don't fit in their cases. I don't know how to determine if my choices will fit.

2. Motherboard ***Updated to support the DDR2 Memory
EVGA nforce 780i SLI Motherboard - A1 Version, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI, Socket 775, ATX, Audio, PCI Express 2.0, Dual Gigabit LAN, S/PDIF, USB 2.0, Firewire, Serial ATA, RAID

3. Processor
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 Processor EU80580PJ0606M - 2.50GHz, 6MB Cache, 1333MHz FSB, Yorkfield, Quad Core, OEM, Socket 775, Processor

4. PSU
PC Power & Cooling / Silencer / 750-Watt / Quad PCI-Express / SATA-Ready / Black Power Supply

5. Memory
OCZ SLI-Ready Dual Channel 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory (2x2048MB)