New gaming rig

Status
Not open for further replies.

Metalice

Solid State Member
Hi,
This is my first time posting, but have been reading these forums for a while. I was wondering if anyone would be able to give me advice/confirm if the choices I have made will work out for a new gaming rig. Honestly I am mainly building this computer for "Age of Conan" but I also play other various games on the computer. I am looking to pay around $1000 (after rebates) or less on the following parts (less is better but i don't wanna cheat my self). Only thing i have not picked out yet would be the motherboard.

These are the parts i have currently from my old rig
PSU-
Newegg.com - ENERMAX EG495AX-VE FMA ATX12V Ver 2.2 485W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, cUL, TUV, CB - Power Supplies

Thermaltake XaserIII Case

HDD -
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar SE WD2500AAJS 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives
Newegg.com - Western Digital Raptor WD360ADFD 36GB 10000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 1.5Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

Monitor - 19 inc LCD

I am looking to buy the rest of the core parts, these are the ones i have partially decided upon so far.

CPU-
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 Kentsfield 2.66GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors

GPU - This is one I was unsure on. The price of this card would most likely put me a little over $1000 but if its only a little i am fine if this card is worth it. I read that this card should last for quite a while down the road. If it will run with my current PSU is another thing that i am unsure about. I was also looking into a regular GTX, and trying to decide if i could get away with that for now and then if i need to pick up another and SLI them later down the road, but don't know if that will be better or worse in the long run