Is it Okay to Buy Open Box?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not sure, but I really wanted the MSI 9600GT, and they had an open box of that one too. I decided to go with the OEM/Retail though; apparently, if you have an open box, someone could have taken the card or mobo for a "test drive."
As in, it might have been possibly used already. That was my understanding at least. Someone else can clarify...

i've bought open box from newegg more times than i could count. Everytime the item worked. And when they say all accessories are missing, thats is not always true. Sometimes it is just like the new product in a brown box. Sometimes it is just the videocard itself or motherboard without the accessories just like they advertise.

But i'm not sure if you would want an ecs board, i've had some bad experiences with their older boards. The newer ones are okay if you don't overclock at all.

most of the time it's okay. however you could be missing some or all of the accessories that come with the unit. and in the disclaimer it mentions that you may be missing items that allow the functionality of the unit you're purchasing to work. its doubtful this would be the case, but you're taking the chance after all.

i've bought open box from newegg more times than i could count. Everytime the item worked. And when they say all accessories are missing, thats is not always true. Sometimes it is just like the new product in a brown box. Sometimes it is just the videocard itself or motherboard without the accessories just like they advertise.

But i'm not sure if you would want an ecs board, i've had some bad experiences with their older boards. The newer ones are okay if you don't overclock at all.

So I'm taking a pretty good chance? Also well what motherboard would you recomend for a card like that and a quad core in that price range then?