I keep losing DVD drive D:

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vital Signs

Solid State Member
Greetings all. My first post/question. I am a business programmer of 24 years and by no means an OS/Hardware guru, so you young techies please give me a hand here. I have already formatted my hard drive and reinstalled XP Pro (I needed to anyway). On to my predicament,... when I place a DVD in my D: drive and activate PowerDVD I get the message no disc in D: After many days of messing with the DVD tools and Windows devices, I placed my old DVD player in the computer, rebooted (found new hardware, etc) I still have the same problem. But when I place my current DVD player back in the drive (found new hardware, blah blah blah) I can actually play a DVD,... but only once. If I wish to watch another DVD, I have to go through the hassle of shutting down, placing my old DVD player back in, shutting down again, and then replace my current DVD player.

Somebody please tell me what the heck is going on and give me a possible solution. I don't have any hair on my head to pull out, so I may resort to drinking! Many thanks in advance.

Jumper is set at master. BTW,.. I have already experimented with the other jumper settings.

Thanks!

Ok, :). I figured that you would have already checked, but I was just checking. So the old DVD player doesn't work, but after plugging that one in, and then plugging in the new one, that causes the new one to work? Weird.

So, I'm assuming that since it goes through finding the new hardware, it assigns drivers and it's recognized in device manager? If that's the case, I would try updating the drivers, however, it should already have the latest.

Since it says it can't find a DVD in drive D:, it clearly recognizes the DVD player, but it sounds more like the DVD player doesn't recognize the DVD, which is then a hardware problem of the DVD player, not your computer.