Problem occurred when plugging in floppy drive.

Status
Not open for further replies.

WasTech

In Runtime
I was reconnecting my floppy drive power connector. I tried to be really careful because I had missed with plug connection before (year ago) but this time it caused problems. Last time when I turned it on it smoked (at floppy power wires) and ruined the plug but I had a 2nd one to use from PSU and my computer worked again.

This time the same thing happened but I'm out of plugs. And when it boots up I can get into the BIOS, there I changed the boot options to HD and DVD rom. Rebooted and it still said something like change boot options. Then I changed to DVD rom as 1st option but same thing. I really hope I didn't ruin the new MB. Or lost my 250GB HD.

So can anybody tell me what might have happened can I reset anything on MB? Could it be that I didn't have a floppy connected? I've never done that before so I wouldn't know. The PSU seems ok. Can I rewire a new plug onto the harness?

I really wish they would make floppy drive plugs idiot proof like others on computers. Because apparently I'm an idiot. I can't believe I did this twice now. I never did it before until like I said last year. Anybody else do this dumb move?

Clone comp A8V-X MB AMD 64 3500+
Antec TP 550W PSU

Reset the CMOS on your computer by taking out the small button battery out of the motherboard. Leave it out for 15 minutes. I would also recommend changing your PSU because anything smoking to do with power is not a good thing.

I question the need for clearing the cmos since that has nothing to do with the actual problem. In order to see a direct short when going to plug the power in on a floppy drive you would have to had to force the plug on upside down since the plug slides onto four wire prongs.