8800GTX or 9800GTX?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raphael Argus

Daemon Poster
I want to say straight up I'm not up to speed on video cards. I was about to buy the 8800GTX since it's under $300 with rebates, but then I noticed the 9800GTX is out for just over $300.

What is the difference?

I will be gaming, and I will be purchasing 2 video cards for 2 systems. Both systems have 28" LCD panels. (One is for my girl)

Both systems have Antec 650 watt True Power Trio PSU's, with 3 of th 12v rails. I don't really want to upgrade a PSU if I don't have too.

Any help on the decesion is appreciated.

I'm not really an expert of any kind on this so I'll ask a generic question.

What do you intend to use the card for? General use, HD videos, Video Games, All of the above?

Also, 28"? Isn't that kind of huge?

If you find them for the same price then go for the better card. Who cares what the purpose is for the 9800GTX will be better in performance and probably worth more in the future.

Well depending on his usage he might not need either of those. Maybe he would be better off with a cheaper card. Maybe 2 cheaper cards in SLI or something. Doesn't hurt to ask.

Its kind of obvious the 9800GTX is better than the 8800GTX but given the way Nvidia names stuff who really knows (besides everyone on here).

Yep, will be doing 1920x1200 res.

Thanks, I wasn't sure if the 9800gtx was good for the higher resolutions. Unless anyone else thanks the 9800gtx is better I'll order my 8800gtx this weekend.

I'm not sure you would really have too many problems with high res using the 9800gtx but you'll have even less problems with the 8800gtx.

I'm not sure on the specific details so can anyone say how two 9600GTs in SLI would fare against an 8800gtx? They're about the same price.