Monitor switches to standby on powerup.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lucky

Solid State Member
Hi
OK... I am new to this so here goes...
When the PC is first powered up, the monitor switches on and then immediately switches to standby mode. If I turn the monitor off and then on, it switches to standby again. The only way to get it to work is to hit the reset button on the pc and do a reset. The PC then restarts and all is fine..... untill I shutdown completely then it all starts again. Is this a problem with the graphics card??? I also seem to be getting a lot of BSOD errors...Can anybody help?????

PC Spec:
motherboard - Gigabyte GA-8KNXP (875P)
Processor - Intel P4 3.2GHz prescott
Memory - 1GB PC3200 DDR400 working in dual channel mode
Graphics card - Leadtek Winfast A360TDH NVIDIA Geforce FX5700
Hard drive - Maxtor Diamondplus9 160Gig SATA150
CD RW
DVD RW
O/S Windows XP Pro

I also have a Hauppauge WinTV-PVR350 card installed.

Win Tv has always caused me problems. Try removing the Wintv card. then powering up. If you have another graphics card in there to replace an onboard one then pull the jumpers from the motherboard set it all back to its orignal settings, then run of normall graphics.

Or if your getting lots og BSOD's then the first thing that i would recomend is to FORMAT the bloody thing. Always works for me. Also check you dont have a shared APG/PCI slot for wintv, grpahics. Would completly throw you PC.

My recomendation is to format. Simple.

There is no onboard graphics on this mobo so got to have graphics card... I have tried re-formatting the hard drive and reloading windows... Microsoft are suggesting I have a driver problem but they don't say which driver is causing it....